The original Swanston golf course was first laid out by a Miss Margaret Carswell back in the 1920s. This 9-hole layout was opened in 1928 as a ladies-only course but due to demand it was soon opened up to men and extended to 18 holes.
A keen golfer she eventually moved to Edinburgh where, outraged when refused membership of various clubs, she established a ladies only club at Swanston, on the outskirts of the city in 1928. Margaret died at home, 89 Comiston Drive, Edinburgh, on the 1st of September 1966.
The course, set in the heart of Robert Louis Stevenson country, has a unique history dating back to 1927. At the first hole a sliced approach will end up in the garden of the house where the famous author lived and the tree, under which he used to sit, grows closed to the tenth tee. In these inspiring surroundings the adventures of Long John Silver and other famous literary characters were conceived.
The original course’s formation is attributable entirely to the enterprise and foresight of Miss Margaret Carswell. Walking in the Pentland Hills one day in 1927 she saw the possibilities of the land. Having acquired a lease she began laying out nine holes, which she extended to eighteen the following year. Although she made all the major decisions herself she was fortunate in having a first rate greenkeeper in Herbert More to advise her. His wife Christina took care of the catering and their son, John turned professional.